Real People in False Events: Joan of Arc


mythsandhitches

JOAN OF ARC BRANDISHING HER SWORD AND WADING INTO BATTLE

*

“One life is all we have and we live it as we believe in living it.”– Joan of Arc

*

 Before writing this post, the little I knew of Joan of Arc wouldn’t fill a thimble. The information I was hoping to get from my old copy of The Book of  Saints proved skimpy and too parochial for my purpose. Turning to film, I decided to watch (again) the two best known classics about the Maid–the colorful Joan of Arc (1948), starring the late Ingrid Bergman, and the silent masterpiece, The Passion of Joan of Arc (1924), with the acclaimed Italian stage actress Renee Falconetti in the stark black-and-white title role. Their unedited versions had just been released, and I heard they were the nearest one could get to visualizing the real Joan. To be sure, there were other movies (some I…

View original post 2,060 more words

Leave a Reply

