First 15th Century Fishermen’s Hut Excavated in Iceland


Ancientfoods

Topic: Early Fisherman

Before I get to my ancient food post for today, I wanted to thank everyone who follows, looks at or likes my blog! As of about twenty minutes or so ago I have had over 50,000 hits on my site in the almost three years I have been blogging. For a subject I was unsure anyone would be interested in, these statistics are overwelming. Thank you again and keep reading, I’m just getting started!

Article:

A fishermen’s hut (verbúð in Icelandic) from the first part of the 15th century was discovered during archaeological research at Gufuskálavör on Snæfellsnes peninsula this summer. It is likely the first verbúð from that period to be excavated in its entirety.

“We have obtained a pretty good picture of what fishermen’s huts looked like in the 15th century,” archaeologist Lilja Björk Pálsdóttir, who leads the excavation at Gufuskálavör, told Morgunblaðið.

Rowboats were operated by…

View original post 278 more words

By heathenramblings Posted in Personal

Leave a Reply

